Skip to content
Home » Jose Ignacio Cornejo wins 12th stage of the Dakar; Toby Price is the … – Motorcycle Sports

Jose Ignacio Cornejo wins 12th stage of the Dakar; Toby Price is the … – Motorcycle Sports

The 12th stage of this Dakar Rally is over, with just two more days of competition to go in what is the toughest rally in the world. The riders had to complete 185 kilometers in the timed section today, on a day where this second part of the marathon stage still had just under 200 kilometers in connections.
Regardless of the distance traveled, the truth is that at the end of the stage, Jose Ignacio Cornejo was the fastest rider of the day. The chilean was the 14th man to start for the stage and then benefited from the tracks left by his competition. Not being so dependent on navigation, the Monster Energy Honda Team rider was always among the fastest and ended the day with the best final time (1h57m27s).
Daniel Sanders was one of the first to start and therefore had a time bonus for this stage. In the end, the Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing rider finished in second place by securing a distance of 49 seconds just for the winner of the stage.
Still in the top three was Toby Price. The Australian from Red Bull KTM Factory Racing was the third to start for today's stage and with the bonuses he managed to always be among the best. Even so, he did not go beyond third place, marking a difference of 1m58s for Cornejo.
In the top five were Matthias Walkner and Kevin Benavides. Price's two teammates were behind the number eight; Walkner moved up the rankings as he set his time at the different waypoints, while Benavides was in second for practically the entire stage. In the end, Walkner was fourth (+2m05s) and Benavides ended the day in fifth (+2m22s).
As far as the general standings is concerned, Toby Price is now the leader of the rally with a final time of 40h47m36s while Skyler Howes (Husqvarna Factory Racing) lost the lead again; the american is 28s behind the leader. Kevin Benavides remains in third (+2m40s), as well as Pablo Quintanilla (Monster Energy Honda Team, +14m54s) and Adrien Van Beveren (Monster Energy Honda Team, +16m14s) who also remained in their positions.
Stage 12 results:

Overall standings:

All the latest from the motorcycle races!
© 2023 Motorcycle Sports. All rights reserved.
Powered by Ceuton


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *