Skip to content
Home » Official Club Website – AFCB – Official Club Website

Official Club Website – AFCB – Official Club Website

First Team
AFC Bournemouth AFC Bournemouth
FA Cup specialist Jack Stephens returns to the AFC Bournemouth starting line-up as head coach Gary O’Neil makes three changes for today’s visit of Burnley in the third round.
Stephens has played in the quarter-finals three times in the past five years for parent club Southampton and scored the only goal in their fourth-round win against Watford in 2017/18.
The defender started for the Saints in their last-eight victories over Wigan Athletic (2017/18) and the Cherries (2020/21) as well as last season’s defeat by Manchester City.  
Stephens is drafted in against the Championship leaders along with Joe Rothwell and Jordan Zemura, the trio having been on the bench for the 3-0 defeat by Manchester United in midweek.
Rothwell, who came on as a late second-half substitute at Old Trafford, joined the Cherries in the summer after leaving Burnley’s arch rivals Blackburn Rovers.
Adam Smith will lead the Cherries with captain Lloyd Kelly and Chris Mepham both named among the Cherries substitutes, while Jefferson Lerma is rested.
Burnley, FA Cup winners in 1913/14 and runners-up in 1946/47 and 1961/62, are on course to make an immediate return to the Premier League having been relegated last season.
Vincent Kompany’s team top the Championship and are currently five points clear of second-placed Sheffield United and 14 ahead of Blackburn, who are third.
Kompany, who won the FA Cup twice as a player with Manchester City, has presided over just two league defeat and, with 52 goals, the Clarets are the highest scorers in the top four divisions.
Should today’s tie finish level after 90 minutes, a replay would take place at Turf Moor on Tuesday 17th January (7.45pm kick-off).
The fourth-round draw will be broadcast live on BBC One on Sunday, commencing at approximately 4.05pm, with the winners of the Cherries/Clarets clash being ball number 11 in the hat.
AFC Bournemouth: Travers, Stephens, Cook, Solanke, Christie, Rothwell, Smith, Senesi, Billing, Anthony, Zemura.
Subs: Kelly, Mepham, Marcondes, Stacey, Moore, Siriki, Lowe, Pearson, Plain (g/k).
Burnley: Peacock-Farrell, Taylor, Harwood-Bellis, Gudmundsson, Brownhill, Barnes, Roberts, Benson, Zaroury, Cullen, Beyer.
Subs: Cork, Egan-Riley, Twine, McNally, Tella, Bastien, Churlinov, Dervisoglu, Muric (g/k).
We use cookies and similar technologies to ensure the smooth running of this website and to enhance your experience as you browse through it. We would also like to use cookie data to help us and our partners understand what information and advertising is of most interest to our fans. You can find out more information on how we use online identifiers and your options and rights in our Cookie Policy here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *